Listen Live

HomeNews2016 Fan the Flame Nominees Announced

2016 Fan the Flame Nominees Announced

Nominations for PacificSport’s 2016 Fan the Flame Awards have been announced.

21 Athletes from around Northern BC are being celebrated for their achievements by being nominated for the Rising Star award.

“There’s a number of sports and all kinds of different communities also represented” said Executive Director Leslie Wirth. “We really think that it paints a very good picture of the quality of young athletes that we have here in Northern BC.”

The event hopes to encourage more kids to get involved with sport and raise the level of competition in Northern BC even higher by showcasing role models in a variety of sports.

- Advertisement -

“These are the kids that are out everyday practicing with the smaller children and the kids new to sport” said Wirth. “So it’s a motivator for sport.”

The awards will also recognize the people behind the scenes who help athletes in the north achieve their potential.

“Everybody has a story to tell about the kinds of people that have influenced them, supported them, coached them and we really felt it was time to take the opportunity to say thank you to those people” said Wirth.

The Fan the Flame gala will be hosted by Catriona LeMay Doan on February 11th at the Prince George Civic Centre.

The nominees for the Rising Star awards:

Junior Female (U-18 on January 1, 2015)

Kaia Andal – Prince George, Nordic Skiing
Emily Dickson – Burns Lake, Biathlon
Hallie Drezet – Prince George, Volleyball
Hannah Esopenko – Prince George, Swimming
Emma Feldinger – Alexis Creek, Rugby
Emma Floris – Vanderhoof, Track and Field
Lina Hiller – Prince George, Speed Skating
Sara Mack – Quesnel, Rodeo
Grace Northrop – Prince George, Judo

Junior Male (U-18 on January 1, 2015)

Evan Bichon – Prince George, Snowboard Cross
Joel Ewert – Prince George, Wheelchair Basketball
Colby Graham – Prince George, Snowboard
Justin Hampole – Prince George, Figure Skating
Bobby Kreitz – Prince George, Biathlon
Sterling Middleton – Fort St. John, Curling

Senior Female (18+ on January 1, 2015)

Sarah Beaudry – Prince George, Biathlon
Jamie Macdonald – Fort St. James, Speed Skating
Lavanna Laass – Prince George, Judo

Senior Male (18+ on January 1, 2015)

Avril Harris – Prince George, Wheelchair Basketball
Colin Carson – Prince George, Volleyball
Jacob Graham – Dawson Creek, Speed Skating

Nominations for the 2015 Canada Winter Games Legacy Sport Difference Maker award include:

Alex Adkins – Fort St. John, Soccer
Lynn Barager – Prince George, Synchronized Swimming
Pierre Beaudry – Prince George, Biathlon
Lisa Davison – Prince George, Badminton
Ariadne Hollness de Hiller – Prince George, Speed Skating
Stephanie Gouin – Prince George, Track & Field
Jerzy Partyka – Prince George, Swimming
The Posse: Ken Goss, Ken Sands, Ken McIntosh, Gary Samis, Pat Hauk, Grant Williams, Darlene Meyers and Rhonda McIntosh – Prince George, 2015 CWG Volunteers
Keith Nakashima – Prince George, Karate
Dan and Brenda Veller – Prince George, 2015 CWG Volunteers

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading