Listen Live

HomeNewsCritical BC government by-election date set

Critical BC government by-election date set

A provincial by-election has been called for January 30th in the Nanaimo electoral district.

The seat became vacant when MLA Leonard Krog resigned on November 30th, 2018.

Candidate nominations for the by-election close Wednesday, January 9th.

So far, businessman Tony Harris will run for the Liberals while Sheila Malcolmson, the former MP for the Nanaimo/Ladysmith constituency will be running to represent the NDP provincially.

- Advertisement -

Retired teacher Michele Ney is representing the Green party, Robin Richardson is running for the Vancouver Island Party and the BC Conservative Party says they’ll announce a candidate in the coming weeks.

If the Liberals capture the seat it would be a tie in the Legislature with 43 seats for the Grits and 43 for the NDP/Green alliance.

– with files from Sharon Vanhouwe, My Powell River Now

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading